You are here: Home Erasmus+

Erasmus+ Enriching lives, opening minds

The new Erasmus+ starts here! Welcome to Erasmus+ at the University of Freiburg. Here students and staff of our university and of our Erasmus+ partner universities can discover the possibilities of the Erasmus program.


Erasmus+ programme 2021-2027

Erasmus+ is the European Union’s (EU) funding programme for general education and vocational training, youth and sport. The EU has been promoting cross-border mobility and exchange between European universities since 1987. With the integration of several EU funding programmes, the name changed from "Erasmus" to "Erasmus+" starting with the 2014-2021 generation of programmes. The overall aim of the programme is to support the educational, professional and personal development of people in Europe and beyond through lifelong learning. The programme is thus an important instrument for the creation of a European education area. The EU has extended Erasmus+ until 2027 and increased the budget for this period to €26.2 billion. The new generation of programmes retains familiar funding lines, while adding several programme innovations as well as further funding opportunities. The focus is on inclusion and diversity, the green and digital transitions, and democratic participation.



Erasmus+ at the University of Freiburg

Erasmus+ comprises the following Key Actions. The University of Freiburg’s International Office implements Key Action 1 within the framework of Erasmus+:

Around 50 academic subjects at the University of Freiburg are involved in Erasmus+. The departments have concluded cooperation agreements with more than 300 European partner universities in over 30 countries and offer students more than 1,500 spots to study abroad. All departments involved in the Erasmus+ programme at the University of Freiburg have appointed Erasmus departmental coordinators who are responsible for selecting and supporting Erasmus+ students.

Inter-institutional agreements between the University of Freiburg and its European partner universities form the basis for Erasmus+ study stays as well as for Erasmus+ mobility grants for students. At department level, the agreements determine the number of exchange students, the length of stay and the requirements for standards of study and language.


Erasmus+ programme and partner countries

Erasmus+ programme countries (KA131)

The 27 member states of the European Union (EU): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

The countries of the European Economic Area: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway

The EU's associated partners: North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey

Erasmus+ worldwide partner countries (KA171)

In addition to the Erasmus+ programme countries, agreements have been concluded with several partner countries outside of Europe. Further information on Erasmus+ worldwide is available here.



Erasmus+ Charter



Erasmus+ office hours

The personal office hours for Erasmus students (incoming and outgoing) take place on the following dates in the Student Service Center, Sedanstr. 6, third floor, room 02.024:

  •  Monday 9 – 12 a.m. for incoming and outgoing students, focus on funding/grant agreement
  •  Tuesday 9 – 12 a.m. for incoming and outgoing students
  •  Thursday 9 – 12 a.m. for incoming and outgoing students
  •  Thursday 2 - 4 p.m. focus on outgoing students

The personal office hours are open office hours. You do not need an appointment.

The virtual office hour takes place via Zoom every Wednesday between 11 am and 12 pm.

You can book a slot here:

You can contact us by email and phone:

Tel.: +49 761/203 4207


Erasmus+ Team at the International Office

Erasmus+ Institutional Coordination

Daniel Weiß

Tel.: +49 761/203 4269


Erasmus+ Staff Mobility and Doctoral Researcher Mobility
Marina Jones

Tel.: +49 761/203-4227


Erasmus+ Institutional Coordination Credit Mobility

Greta Matthis

Tel.: +49 761/203-95189


Erasmus+ Incoming Exchange Coordination

Matthias Kölle

Tel.: +49 761/203-97566


Erasmus+ Financial Coordination

Luitgard Scheidler

Tel.: +49 761/203-4375


Erasmus+ Data Management

Julianne Hormann

Tel.: +49 761/203 9655


Erasmus+ Assistance

Maximilian Foitzik


Erasmus+ Inter-Institutional Agreements







This project is funded in cooperation with the European Commission. The responsibility for the content of this publication is born solely by the author; the Commission is not liable for the further use of the information contained herein.

EU cofunded

Erasmus Landing Page